Skip to content ↓
Phoenix Academy

Phoenix Academy

Phoenix Academy

Welcome toPhoenix Academy

Libertas per cultum

Our Staff

Our staff team is comprised of highly-qualified, passionate and motivated individuals, all united by one common goal: to inspire their students and guide them in achieving their potential. 

Our Teaching Staff

Please see below for a list of the talented individuals who make up our teaching team.

Senior Leadership

Mr Tony MacDowall

Principal/ Safeguarding Lead

Mrs Nariman Issa

Assistant Head Teacher/ Head of Computer Science

Mr Thomas Lamboi

Assistant Head Teacher/ Head of Citizenship/ Key Stage 3 Lead

Mr R Pearson

Assistant Head Teacher/ Teacher of English

Mr Gary Aubin

Head of SEN at Future Academies


Ms Briony Baden-Semper

Teacher of English

Mr William Bearcroft

Teacher of Classics

Mr Daniel Bennett

Head of RS

Dr Georgette Bertram

Head of Alternative Provisions

Mr Kevin Browne

Head of PE

Miss Sarah Burch

Head of Geography

Mr Liam Carty

Teacher of Science

Ms Adanma Chiana

Head of Science

Ms Michelle Copeland

SENCo/ Deputy Safeguarding Lead/ Teacher of English/ Head of Year 8

Mr Billy Doyle

Head of Year 11/ Teacher of PE

Ms Emily Ford

Teacher of Art

Miss Gemma Goodwin

Head of Year 10/ Teacher of PE

Ms Antigone Harries

Teacher of History and Trust History Lead

Ms Nicole Holmes

Head of Maths

Ms C Neubert

Teacher of Maths

Miss Neema Nyaulingo

Teacher of Maths

Mrs Ndidi Offonze

SEN Teacher

Miss Donna Power

Head of English

Miss Helena Rogers

Teacher of History

Mrs Natasha Rogerson

Teacher of English

Ms Cecile Talairach

Teacher of French

Ms Uwaoma Uchendu

Science Teacher

Miss Joy Ugono

Head of Year 7/ Head of Music

Mr Harry Vakatalai

Teacher of Geography

Ms Lauren Weems

Teacher of Science

Miss Shona Whatford

Teacher of History

Mr Oliver Young

Teacher of Maths

Our Support Staff

Our school could not run if it were not for the outstanding work of our team of support staff, comprising of pastoral staff, LSAs, maintenance, and office team.

Please see below for more details.

Miss Humna Abdullah

Data & Exams Office

Miss Ese Akpojotor

Art & Notices/Welfare Officer

Mr Jeff Brown

Facilities Manager

Ms Sinead Curtin

Speech and Language Therapist

Mr Matthew Demetrious

Agency Teaching Assistant

Ms Sarah Dias Martins

Pastoral Support Manager for Year 8

Mr David Dice

Commando Joes/Year 9 Pastoral Lead

Mrs Vitore Kacubaj

Higher Level Teaching Assistant

Ms Joy Khatun

Teaching Assistant


Admissions and Attendance Officer

Ms Jennifer Lynch


Ms Shamaila Majoka

Teaching Assistant

Mr Rachyd Martins

IT Manager

Mr Robert McCarthy

Head of Careers and Employability

Ms Mieschel McIntosh

Office and Diary Manager

Miss Carolyn Minors

Child Protection Lead/ Pastoral Support Manager for Year 11

Mrs Leanne Officer-Jacquet

Inclusion Administrator


Receptionist/ Administrator

Ms Chryssa Ropa

Cover Supervisor

Mrs Elvira Sanchez


Mr Nilesh Shah

Science Technician

Miss Charlene Stewart

School Nurse

Mr Phanor Tejada-Gonzalez

Facilities Assistant